Meet our Earth Kids

Meet our Earth Kids

Meet our Earth Kids. Read their Bios and find out what taking action for Nature means to them. Uncover what their life dreams and goals are. Read more about their favourite sports and foods and discover their hidden talents and passions.

Amelie Scheffler

What do I want for my future? Well, as any normal person may agree, I’m exited and scared in a good way.

Hi! I am Amelie and what I really want in the future is to have lots of people with me whom I love and care about.

My ultimate goal in life is to have as many close friends as possible and not to lose the ones I have now. I would also like to be less scared and to try new things like bungee jumping and sky diving. I want to know that I didn’t miss out on anything.

At Earth Kids TV (EKTV), we make films for, and about, the earth. It is a great experience and you should definitely come and try it out. Being in an Earth School gives me the chance to help the things on this planet that matter. And to know that I made a difference and did not just sit around and do nothing. The earth is here to help us so we must help it. We must stop polluting it and get the message out there.

After school, in my spare time, I do hip-hop dancing and surfing. I love surfing with my friends. If there is one thing I love the most in this world it’s food! My favourite food would have to be Sushi and my favourite drink is iced tea.

My favourite day of the week is Friday because I do surfing with my friends from EKTV!

Kaely van Reenen

I am passionate about many things, sport being one of them. Especially netball and soccer.

Hi, I am Kaely and I am 12 years old. I feel that it is important to learn about the earth and ways we can protect it. I know exactly how important it is to understand all the problems in the world, as well as how we can fix them.

One day I hope to be still playing netball, but really professionally. The team I am in have had a few seasons now when we have been unbeaten, but we work hard at it. I also play soccer, and I really love it, but I have only recently started, so I am not nearly as good.

Besides sport I love to bake. I just bake for fun and I would do it everyday if I could, but I make a lot of mess when I bake. And I love reading. When I find a book or series I like, my family doesn’t see me for a couple of days. I get very engrossed in my book and love imagining all the details and what I would do in that situation.

Besides all of that, I have a business! Since I love baking so much, I sell the things I bake. But that is only some of it. I also sell fresh produce from our garden and little things like Pesto that I make with it. My customers order on a Friday and I pick, bake and pack it on a Saturday and then go deliver it.

When I am working I listen to music as it helps me concentrate and go into my own world. I know some people find it distracting, but for some reason I don’t.

I love learning how to film at school, and spending time with my friends. We all have so much fun surfing at the beach on Fridays after school. We are all still learning, but we get better at it every time we go.

Sophia Hinz

My favourite colour is maroon and my favourite animal, or animals, are bunnies and hamsters.

Hi! I am Sophia. I have lots of pets: four dogs, two fish and three bunnies. I have 12 siblings and, including me, there are 13 children in my family.

My favourite hobbies are surfing and art. When I am older I want to be an actress, veterinarian, film maker, marine biologist or an artist. I really love Earth School because we are trying to help and save this earth. It is such a wonderful school.

Leeya van Reenen

My goal is to save all animals even if they are not suffering.

Hi, my name is Leeya. I am 9 years old and I live in Noordhoek on Pepper Street. I was born in 2011 and I have a sister called Kaely who is 3 years older than me .

My biggest achievement is taking care of animals. My family and I take care of 3 dogs, 1 hamster and who knows how many chickens?! When I grow up I want to be a professional horse rider. I do horse riding now and I REALLY enjoy it.

I like Mondays and I don’t know about Fridays – I like those days of the week because of horse riding.

Amber van der Byl

I love all animals and have 5 chickens and 2 guinea pigs. Some of my sports are figure skating and horse riding.

Hi, my name is Amber. I am 13 years old and in grade 8. I would describe myself as creative as I love coming up with out-of-the-box ideas. I am also told that I am generous and friendly.

My favourite day of the week is Friday as I get to go horse riding. I have always wanted to learn how to ride and now I am very passionate about it. Another one of my sports is figure skating, which takes a lot of time and dedication. One of my biggest achievements was to qualify for nationals in the synchronised skating team.

I still have not decided what I want to do when I am older as there are so many different options. Some of my favourite things to do include hanging out with friends, dancing, swimming and watching movies with my family.

I am so happy to be at Earth Kids TV as I prefer it to mainstream school. My favourite thing about Earth Kids TV is learning to film and direct videos.